American Idol Season 8

14 May

Here’s the deal. Anyone in their right minds (or who owns a decent pair of ears anyway) would know that Adam Lambert would sail all the way through to the finals, contending against, hmm, perhaps Danny Gokey who made it to the Top 3, right? Wrong. Well, yes, Adam did make it through to the Finale, but the one competing against him is, sadly, Kris Allen.

Before I continue any further, I would like to state now that yes, I had never been a fan of Kris, and yes, this post is most likely to contain harsh comments about him, so to his fans who are reading this right now and are cursing me to STFU and GO TO HELL, well, I could say the same thing to you. So there. We’re even now, hmm?

And I’m not going to comment about Adam’s performance, because words simply aren’t enough to describe it. We’ve all agreed with that now. Adam could be sleep talking and still sound pitch perfect. Okay fine I was exaggerating, but you get my point. Oh, besides, his sexuality doesn’t affect his performance, so all you homophobes out there can just stuff it.

Simple lil banner I made <3

Simple lil banner I made <3

Back to Kris. Now,answer me truthfully. Would you pay to LISTEN to him sing without LOOKING at him? I’ve heard cats meow more melodiously than him. Alright, alright, I’ll give him props for tweaking his songs here and there but being able to turn a song into your own DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE GOOD AT SINGING. As the judges constantly say, this is a singing competition! Yes, a SINGING COMPETITION. The purpose of a singing competition is to search for a great singer, not the next cover guy!

Not quite the looker either...

There isn’t a single performance of his for me to remember him by since the first time I saw him (which I really can’t be bothered to remember when) until now.In other words, he is simply forgettable. He lacks personality and confidence. Most importantly, I just don’t get the message of “Hey! I want to win this no matter what! I -am- your next American Idol!” from him. Sure, having a laid back and humble personality is a good thing, but not in a competition.

Vocal-wise, he is just average at best. Most of his performances were pitchy and all over the place. In fact, I must say he even sounds boring. Perhaps the only performance of his that left a deep impression on me was ‘Remember the Time’ by Michael Jackson. Good Lord. He truly is talented. So talented in mangling one of my favorite songs so perfectly. Don’t even get me started on rock week. Goodness, it looked as though it took him a great deal of effort just to sing it. Heck, his veins were popping from his neck! And the duet with Danny? Without Danny, that performance would be utterly hopeless. Honestly, I really thought that a finale of Adam VS Danny would’ve been so much more interesting.

danny-gokey

All I can say is, Kris, how could you be so heartless to slaughter songs, and it’s too late to apologize.

2 Responses to “American Idol Season 8”

  1. danchan May 19, 2009 at 13:46 #

    juz hope for ur sake adam wins…hehe
    now if kris were to win….american idol will probably lose a fan in the next season…

  2. Firesky May 20, 2009 at 03:32 #

    ROFL yeah but somehow I have a feeling that kris might win D: Ah well, Adam will turn out to be heaps more successful than him if that’s the case, like Daughtry <3

Leave a comment